New laws in Massachusetts regarding texting while driving and No cell phone use for teenagers take effect 9-30-2010
As the weather starts to cool and the leaves change color, we would like to remind our insureds about how to be safer behind the wheel, especially as new laws in Massachusetts regarding texting while driving take effect. As part of our partnership with Safety Insurance via the Safe Roads Alliance on the “No Texting While Driving” campaign, we’d like to remind you that…
- Starting September 30th, it will be illegal for all drivers in Massachusetts to use a mobile phone or other handheld device to compose, send or read electronic messages while behind the wheel. What most drivers may not know is that the ban includes these activities while at stop signs and red lights, too.
- Drivers under 18 cannot use cell phones, even with hands-free devices, at all.
- If a driver is caught texting while driving, the penalties include:
- First offense: $100 fine
- Second offense: $250 fine
- Third and subsequent offense: $500 fine
- Drivers under 18 will also face license suspensions for violations.
In addition, we’d like to remind you that Downey Insurance‘s partnership via Safety Insurance company with In Control’s driver skills development courses can make a big difference in safe driving! To support our policyholders, we offer a 5% Group Discount on premiums, and a $75 fee (a 70% discounted cost) for the driver skills development program
So Be careful out there! Charlie Downey